ICTN Movie of the Week

Tune in for a classic movie that the whole family can enjoy.


The Most Dangerous Game – 1932 – (1:02:29) 

–  Joel McCrea and Fay Wray. The original and best of “man as quarry” films, this classic version of Richard Connell’s famous story is the prototype of all films to follow. The two rather gruesome images of a mythological beast, one a door knocker with an arrow protruding from its chest and the other a wall tapestry, ominously welcomes shipwreck victim Bob Rainesford (Joel McCrea) to the castle home of Count Zaroff (Leslie Banks) and set the tone for things to come. 
Starring Joel McCrea as Bob Rainsford, Fay Wray as Eve Trowbridge, Robert Armstrong as Martin Trowbridge, Leslie Bank as Count Zaroff, Noble Johnson Ivan, Steve Clemento as Tartar Servant, William Davidson as Captain. A RKO Pictures/Cooper and Schodesack Production; produced by Merian Cooper; directed by Ernest B. Schoedsack and Irving Pichel; screenplay by James Ashmore Creeman, from the O’Henry Prize Winning Collection; Story by Richard Connell; cinematography by Henry Gerrard; music composed by Max Steiner.

Coming up August 26

The Beachcomber – 1938 – (1:27:19) 

–  Charles Laughton and Elsa Lanchester. In the Dutch East Indies the local magistrate known as Controleur (Robert Newton) doesn’t know what to do with drunken and rowdy Ginger Ted (Charles Laughton). He is amused by Ted and by his own admission “I suppose I’m jealous of the way he squanders the priceless treasure of life.” In a drunken binge, Ted catches the wrathful eye of Martha Jones (Elsa Lanchester - Laughton’s wife in real life), the spinster sister of the local missionary, when he lures one of her students to the local bar, then wrecks the place after he is caught.
Charles Laughton, Elsa Lanchester, Sir Tyrone Guthrie, Robert Newton, Eliot Makeham, Dolly Mollinger, D.A. Ward, and J. Solomon. Producer and Director: Erich Pommer. Screenwriter: Bartlett Cormack. Based on the book 'Vessel of Wrath' by W. Somerset Maugham. Cinematographer: Jules Kruger. Musical Director: Muir Mathieson.